Thread: Redirecting only the top level URL in a domain

Redirecting only the top level URL in a domain

I used to be a COBOL mainframe programmer, so all this newfangled PC stuff is Greek to me, but I have knocked up a couple of websites for my boss and he wants something annoying.

Our first website is ourdomain.info and it went live first and is static and everything from ourdomain.info/museums/ downwards is just to show to clients, and the top level URL is already Googleable.

Then our eShop went live into ourdomain.co.uk

My boss doesn't like that the ourdomainsite shows on Google, allowing people to sneak into his museum section, and wants a redirect on JUST the ourdomaintop level URL to the top level URL.

All links and lower pages still have to work, and the only way to reach the ourdomainite is to be from a link on the eShop.

to redirect when you click on the ourdomain.\\

This works fine, with a fraction of a second to display a 'please click link' if the computer is powered by hamsters in a wheel and can't redirect.

There are no years of stats to be lost if a spider doesn't follow a redirect; he just wants all customers to be dragged to the shop.

I tried a subliminal redirect using a 301 redirect in a .htaccess, but using

Options +FollowSymLinks
    RewriteEngine on

redirects all pages.

So.

What do I put in a .htaccess to redirect ONLY THE TOP LEVEL URL, and still be able to access the rest of the site???

Re: Redirecting only the top level URL in a domain