Thread: unable to connect to exchange server

angry unable to connect to exchange server

I am a tech working on a network. Please excuse any incorrect networking terminology, as networking is only part of my responsibly, and not one of my strong points. Our domain is a tree in a forest of a larger agency’s domain.

Our tree has two domain controllers running windows 2003 server at our home office. We have about 20 remote locations that connect to our network via vpn routers. The remote location client pcs are running windows xp pro (some sp2 and some sp3). We have an exchange sever that another department maintains for us (I don’t have administrative access to it). The pc’s connect to our tree through a firewall system after going through their individual vpn router’s (I also don’t have access to the firewall system).

Here is the problem (which I have only noticed on client machines at the remote offices). Users are able to login to windows with their username and password without a problem. When they launch outlook (version 2003) and attempt to connect to the exchange server one of two things happens:

First scenario: they are able to connect, but they are asked to enter their username and password. If they enter their domain name\username, and then their password, in most cases they are able to connect to the exchange server. In some cases, they are not able to connect. They get stuck in a situation where exchange keeps asking for their username and password. Other users in the same office on different pc’s are able to connect to the same exchange server without a problem.

Second scenario, they launch outlook and are unable to connect to the exchange server at all. An error indicates that they are unable to connect to the server. Other users in the same office on different pc’s are able to connect to the same exchange server without a problem. When this scenario occurs, we have noticed that the users are also at times unable to connect to mapped network drives.