Thread: network drives don't show

network drives don't show

Hello to you all. This is my first time on TechArena and hopefully to stay for a long time.
    Well, now to my problem.
    I have networked computers (win-sp pro) connected to Win2003SmallBusiness partitioned as different drives, eg one for the system (c:) and other for work in progress (d:, e:, etc). On the xp units most of the time the networked folders show up (appear as network drives and access normally) - then if the computer is not connected to the server for a particular length of time, these drives don't show up, disappear, even when I access the network folder in the control panel. Checked network and all ok; ping and all is fine. Sometimes on shortcuts files created from the network, the connections come back quickly but some other time gives an error message that I am unable to write down and disappear quickly. I understand that there are settings in Windows that control the connection time and when lags it tend to terminate or hide (such as 'keep always connected' or similar). Does anyone know where is this setting is located? Been searching the MS website for ages but cannot find the details.
    I'll appreciate greatly if someone can help me.
    Thanks.

ThumbsUp Re: network drives don't show