Thread: Help file corrupt in Office 2007

Help file corrupt in Office 2007

I had recently installed Microsoft Office 2007. The installation was fine and there was no problem with the setup. But when I try to open help files in Powerpoint it is not loading. It looks the files are corrupt. How can I restore those files back again. I am new to Office 2007 and trying to find out information on new features through help section. But it is not showing up better output. Any idea on the same. From where I can download those files.

office 2007 help files

Hi, I'm John from Microsoft. Please take a look at the thread I recently responded to at http://forums.techarena.in/showthread.php?t=690490. If that doesn't address your issue, here's a few questions to help start a diagnosis of the issue.

1. What OS are you currently running and did you customize your install in anyway? For instance, was 2007 installed on top of a previous version of Office, did you customize your setup, are you potentially not running as an admin?
    2. What kind of internet connection do you have, Corpnet, Cable, DSL, dialup?
    3. Are you running any frewall software?
    4. Can you browse to Office.Microsoft.com without any issues?
    5. Try changing the Help Viewer to Offline Mode, here's the steps to get Help offline.
    a. Click on the "Connect to Office Online" dropdown menu, its at the bottom right corner of the Help Window in the status bar.
    b. Select "Show only content from this computer"
    c. You should now be offline, make sure you can access local help.

Hopefully we'll have this solved quickly, talk to you soon!

I have a similar problem. When ever I try to access the help from any
    Office program I recieve the following msg box:
    Office 2007 Enterprise
    Application name Microsoft Word
    Version 12.0
    Build 4518
    Product ID 81599-871-0048002-65617

I should have followed up sooner, just checking to see if the post from