Thread: Microsot Excel Responds too Slowly

Microsot Excel Responds too Slowly

Hi, I have been using Excel for the past 8 years. While I like all the new capabilities of Excel 2007, I am very frustrated at the extremely slow response times when it comes to analyzing or simply manipulating large data sets. For example, I have a 130 mb file with 5 worksheets. One of them (Rawdata sheet) has around 300,000 rows with 25 columns of data and around 300,000 IF statements - the other sheets are more calculation based spreadsheets with a few sums, one pivot table, around 17,000 vlookups and 5 indirect functions. There is a macro that runs to prepare the data in a certain format which is then plugged into 2 graphs.

Now, anything I need to do with the Rawdata sheet takes inordinately long - for example - if I need to delete data from 1000 rows, and I just select these rows and press 'delete' - it takes around 5 minutes. If I do the same operation on say, 5000 rows, it takes more than 2 hours. I have tried deleting entire columns / rows and same thing happens. Even scrolling thr ough cells (sideways or up and down) takes more time as the workbook stays 'open' longer. My question is, why does it take so long to do simple operations such as Delete, scroll and Paste special etc? Saving / opening takes very long too - but I can live with those.