Thread: MSI X48C Platinum memory and boot troubleshooting

MSI X48C Platinum memory and boot troubleshooting

I've been running this X48C for about two years with 2 x 2 GB DDR2 800Hz. That has worked reasonably well. The only trouble was that when the PC is first turned on the computer is almost always frozen when the Windows Vista loading bar appeared on the screen. Then had to give the computer a hard reset and then boot Vista well and functioning correctly. Since almost all time I worked on the second try I just live with the discomfort. I recently wanted to limit my memory, so I bought four sticks of 2 GB DDR3, KVR1333D3N9/2G; I made sure they were in the compatibility list. After connecting, I had to reboot several times and was only when I removed the turbo cards that I have Vista to start.

re: MSI X48C Platinum memory and boot troubleshooting

I had the same problem before and tried to use DDR3 in a single-slot DIMM2, without success. Now I tried a DDR3 DIMM5 and to my surprise, the boot is beyond the usual warning not overclock. The hard drive began to correct errors and was about 2.3 is done when the lights went out again. The next time you start Vista managed to load completely. Scheduled, this time it took 7 min 40 sec before the power went out again. However, this is more than I have with DDR3 and the problems began.

Literally from the start the monitor H / W in the BIOS showed a temperature of 102 C CPU / 215 F. When he reached 108 C / 226 F after a couple of minutes I turned it off. Since it is temporary, while expected to only be expected to explain why the system became more stable, eliminating things and move the bar away from a processor memory. It may still be a coincidence, but since I did that the system is started directly, without false starts or not overclock messages.