Thread: How to connect Studio XPS 9100 SATA connector to Motherboard

How to connect Studio XPS 9100 SATA connector to Motherboard

My question is very simple, I have a new secondary hard-disk for a my dell XPS 9100 with an Intel i7 processor. Now I need to connect my secondary hard-drive to it. I haven ‘t started connecting it yet , Because I am new to these kind of things and I just to be preventive by asking if there is any procedure or way through which I can connect it . I also don‘t have any idea where on motherboard to find the place where I need to connect it. I also want to know if there is any procedure related to it.

Re: How to connect Studio XPS 9100 SATA connector to Motherboard

Hiii mate , You can attach the extra SATA hard-drive cable to any available on the open SATA cable/connector on your motherboard. But remember that you need 2 6 by 32*1/4 Phillips pan head screws (which would be need to attach it to the chassis of your CPU and also check if there is a spare SATA power connector inside the case. Its is always there but in some cases it may not be there is you need to purchase that from any local dealer.

You just need to find the additional SATA power supply on the motherboard then connect your additional SATA hard-drive that you are having to the SATA power cable. The next step that you need to do is check that your additional hard-drive is recognized by the operating system you use. You can see this by going to your bios and check if it is present there and is enabled. You also need to format you’re additional hard-drive. According t o the partion that is allowed by your operating system.. hope this helps