Thread: Raid Configuration with 3 TB Hard disk

Raid Configuration with 3 TB Hard disk

I am a newbie computer user , I am not much aware of the computer technologies being introduced in the market , I recently came to know that my system is a raid enabled system , later on I learned a few concepts about all these , I have got a new i5 processor , and the intel’s motherboard installed in my system however my doubt was all about the raid enabled in the system , my question is that is it possible to make use of the new 3TB disks as members of RAID arrays on Intel RST? I will be very grateful to get your responses .

Re: Raid Configuration with 3 TB Hard disk

I did the estimation on rebuilding RAID5 arrays from big hard drives for a storage project around two years ago. The error rates quoted by makers ombined with the enormous data storage volumes of contemporary disks compared with their counterparts when the RAID levels were described, that measn meant it was not safe to depend on even a RAID6 with 8 drives to be able to productively rebuild a failed disk without additional errors cropping up if the disks were bigger than 1TB. Seems as if it will not be long until even sole drives will be probably to experience unrecoverable errors before you even fill them up.