Thread: Can I overclock a Intel Q6600 with these ambient temperature

Can I overclock a Intel Q6600 with these ambient temperature

I'm new to over clocking, but I presently created a new system on my computer as well as was going to attempt and over clock it to around 3.0GHz. Unluckily with my present ambient temperature I'm not convinced whether its a good thought. My current television Asus Q6600, P5K-G/Wi-Fi , Thermal right Ultra 140 intense with S-flex fan (1700 rpm currently position to 1100 rpm) Transcend DDR2-900 RAM, At 35 deg C ambient temperature I'm receiving the subsequent CPU and Motherboard temperature
    Idle speed CPU 49 degrees C (Core temp & RM clock)
    Motherboard 43 degrees C(speedfan)
    CPU 61-62 deg C
    Motherboard 44-46 deg C
    When the ambient temperature falls to around 25 degrees C the processor idles at about 40 degrees C. so can anyone knows about over clock it then reply me.

Re: Can I overclock a Intel Q6600 with these ambient temperature

This appear high to me and I wouldn’t desire to arrive at that temperature but I estimate the CPU doesn’t strangle until it reach 71C. I don’t fancy your chances, over clocking will need additional voltage at some stage and then the temperatures are actually departing to go up. You could attempt to enlarge case cooling and amplify the speed of the processor fan to 100% but with such high ambient temperatures I m not convinced how much fine it will do (not much I believe Unless you attempt other way of cooling other than air I can’t give much advice. You could lap the bottom of the HSF and CPU then exercise Arctic Silver 5 degree as your thermal paste. This will give you maybe 5 degree C less, probably more depending on the excellence of finish on the HSF and how even the CPU IHS is.