Thread: Processors and its categories

Processors and its categories

I am a student from a non technical background. I have a lot of interest in knowing about computers and its peripherals.I use a Pentium 4 processor. How does a processor work? How modern processors are different from the old ones? I have heard a lot about the AMD processors? Are processors manufactured by AMD superior from that of Intel? I am a game freak . Please suggest which processors should I go for a change?

Re: Processors and its categories

A processor is a small electronic chip mounted on the electronic circuit board called as mother board,it is the brain of a computer and is responsible for Arithmetic and logical functions. Processors used in modern computers are smaller in size and faster in computing as compared to the older processors. Intel processors are most widely used processors in most of the systems, I reckon you should opt for Intel.

There are two main manufacturers that the lead the market today Intel and AMD(Advanced Micro Devices). Intel has manufactured Pentium M and Celeron M processors, core processors such as dual core and ultra core processors,and the latest virtual i3,i5,i7 processors. AMD processors include Sempron, Athlon, Turion , Xenon. both these companies manufacture single and multicore processors.

Different computer generation used different technologies for processing. Now modern computing use core processors and virtual processors that are capable of performing complicated tasks in minimum time frame.
    Every processor has a clock speed which is measured in gigahertz. More the gigahertz higher the processing speed. But processor generates high amount of heat and a heat sink is placed on the processor that absorbs its heat. AMD processors have more clock speed than that of Intel processors But still most user prefer Intel processors because the AMD processors generate much more heat than Intel processors.