Thread: GT 640 paired with GT 670 for PhysX will be good option

GT 640 paired with GT 670 for PhysX will be good option

I have been using EVGA GT 640 for past 7 months in my computer. Now I want to upgrade the graphic card by adding EVGA GT 670 along with my existing graphic card to get more accurate PhysX effect. Actually I had doubt that since I am using two graphic cards that are different from each other that are from same series, will it create any problem for working of the games? Can someone shed some light on this problem?

Re: GT 640 paired with GT 670 for PhysX will be good option

If you are getting a graphic card just to get dedicated PhysX effect, then I should tell you that you don’t need it until you want to develop some game or animated content which has high end collisions and real life like physics effects on your computer. But if you want to play games, then let me tell you that having a dedicated graphic card for PhysX is not practical. Most of the games don’t have any PhysX effects and those which have use only 10% to 15% of total resources to generate PhysX effects. Only the objects that will be prominently seen are developed using PhysX technology. For example, Batman’s cape in Arkham Asylum needs PhysX. Getting a graphic card just for this effect is not sensible.

If you want to have a dedicated PhysX in your computer, then I suggest that you use GeForce GTX 550Ti instead of EVGA GT 670. The processing power and other attributes are more powerful and better for PhysX effects. You will see that in GeForce GTX 550Ti has 192 cores at 1902 Shader while if you observe EVGA GT 670, then it has 384 cores at 901 Shader. So if both the graphic cards are compared with each other, then GeForce GTX 550Ti is somewhat 4% to 5% more powerful than EVGA GT 670 when combined with EVGA GT 640. Also EVGA GT 670 has 28.5 GBps data transfer rate while GeForce GTX 550Ti has 104.5 GBps data transfer speed.