Thread: Radeon 4670 display drivers crash crysis in windows 7

Radeon 4670 display drivers crash crysis in windows 7

So I have (for the first time, and with day-care style supervision from a much more capable friend) built a Living Room all-around Desktop PC with all new parts (see rig specs below).
    For my day one launch I have purchased Crysis Max edition. I am not an expert by any means when it comes to PC hardware OR software, but have what I would consider a working knowledge of both. I have been told that Crysis is a good way to guage your graphic card potential, since I am unconcerned with all my other specs (CPU, RAM, etc).

After installing all components and drivers, including the latest catalyst version, firing up windows 7 64 bit premium edition and adjusting display settings to appropriate level (1024x768), I ran crysis for the first time. It takes me through all of the opening sequences and I set my display options to the recomended settings (high), and start a new campaign. It goes through the opening cutscenes flawlessly, with the exception of the ocasional refresh flicker. when it gets to the very first user controlled sequence the screen freezes and windows closes the window indicating that the display driver has stopped working and has been recovered. Running the game again, it gets a little further into the gameplay (about 1-2 minutes) looking great and and running smoothly, and then crashes again this time only indicating that Crysis has stopped working, and offering no explanation this time. subsequent retries only get me a little bit further each time before crashing.

I have tried uninstalling and re-installing the catalyst drivers and the problem persists. I've tried using a video card stability test application which rotates 2 globes. It didn't seem to offer any details, but the globes spin pretty choppy considering it's not very graphic intensive.
    I've run out of ideas that don't involve formatting and starting over again...