Thread: How to manage an unexpected event

How to manage an unexpected event

I'm quite new to project, and I can't figure out how to manage an unexpected event.

Let's imagine I have project A, which goes on the entire month.

An unexpected event (B) breaks in and I have to stop A, do B for a week, and then restart A.

How do I manage it automatically?

By the way: no splitting, because I could have unexpected events which go on for 1 o 2 hours, and splitting the main activity isn't a good way because:
    1) I can't split it exactly where I need it, but approximately
    2) It takes really long split activity A, link the end of A to the beginning of B, do B, and finally relink the end of B to A again.

Re: How to manage an unexpected event

I think that it is possible to plan for the unexpected, making provisions in your schedule should something out of the blue happen. This is achieved by adding something called contingency. At it’s core, there are two types of contingency:

1. Effort contingency – an extra bucket of effort to your schedule that is used in case extra work is required, or items take longer than originally thought;
    2. Schedule contingency – extra duration to your schedule in case of unexpected delays.

First of all thank you for your reply.

Is "contingency" a term used in Project for real? I'm asking this because I than have to find the italian equivalent in Project, since I'm working with italian version.

I think (but not sure) that the 2nd fits to me, but what I need is Project to say: ok, resource named Alan was working on project A, but now has to do B. Since B has a higher priority and is a 2 hours work, Alan is going to work on B for 2 hours, than restart A, which will end two hours later than expected.

I hope this could be done automatically...

Hi,

You wrote:

Is "contingency" a term used in Project for real? I'm asking this because I than have to find the italian equivalent in Project, since I'm working with italian version.