Thread: Western Digital passport hard disk doesn’t mount

Western Digital passport hard disk doesn’t mount

I have a WD passport hard disk with me which I have been using for past 2 months. First it was working fine but now it has started giving me problems. I have some important data on it which I need. When I plug the hard disk in the PC, it is detected by the system and the autorun of the disk is initialized. But when I go in My Computer to open the disk, it is not shown in it. I tried accessing it by using the direct shortcut in Run from start, but I get an error message saying that this location doesn’t exist. Can anybody tell me why it is happening? Is it because of some changes in settings that I have made or is it an error of the hard disk?

Re: Western Digital passport hard disk doesn’t mount

The WD passport hard disks are known to have bad USB conductors. Have you tried using a different USB cable to see if the problem doesn’t lie in the USB cable or connectors of hard disk or your system? You can download WD diagnostics from their website and you can run it on the drive. If there is any problem, it will detect the problem and prompt you to repair it. The repairing will include downloading of drivers for the hard disk. See to it, that you provide proper model number and other details or else it won’t perform proper diagnostics on your device. If you are so keen on recovering data and if you are planning to hand it over to data recovery agency then WD passport hard disk uses DIY route technology. It doesn’t have Sata plus encryption which makes it more difficult and expensive to recover lost data.