Thread: Looking for Lightning Protection

Looking for Lightning Protection

I subsist in an area prone to recurrent brutal thunderstorms. Many, as well as myself, have suffered harm to its tools during these events through the telephone line connections. The current protection device, which also fit in a power supply battery backup, successfully blocked a recent incident, but now needs to be repaired as a result. I notion it might be a better idea is a small plastic box equipped with input and output fuses. The fuse for easy replacement and low-cost or fuses inside the amplifier would be less than you can fry a modem or worse. No one appear to offer something like this, though. Not being an electrical engineer who needed something that would make this concept viable?

Re: Looking for Lightning Protection

I am not an engineer either, but what I believe is that you get what you pay for. As for ordinary brains told me that over-voltage lightning escapes with a fuse cheaper in the time it takes to record. We're talking milliseconds here and that your surge protector says it needs repair work to protect your project for a large over-voltage. Unplug this apparatus during lightning storms. Predominantly ground.

Higher-level guards and UPS units have a phone line protection, instead of $ 50,000 (or more) insurance policies where you pay to replace or repair any tools that was smashed by a power spike connected to the unit. These charge extra, but in areas with lots of lightning, perhaps worth it. On the whole, the ground back flash causing damage not only the team but to TV, alarms and other electronic devices.