Thread: Keyboard, mouse, Xserver not working in Gentoo

Keyboard, mouse, Xserver not working in Gentoo

I am new to Linux based operating system. I have heard a lot about the Linux based operating system and hence decide to try out the Gentoo operating system that is based on Linux. I have judiciously been a windows user since past years. But know I have decided to shift myself to a better platform which would rather be complex but indeed be a stable one. As per a short search on Google showed me the way to Gentoo operating system. I have installed it and now I have been facing a problem that my mouse and keyboard are not working. Someone please tell me what should I do . Or where did I got wrong .

Re: Keyboard, mouse, Xserver not working in Gentoo

Hey there, which version of Gentoo are you using? The version of Gentoo matters are the version 4.3.4 is totally different from 4.3.5. So without such vital information, I think no one this forum could help you out. The major changes that are made to versions are kernel layout and Base layout. The base layout for version 4.3.4 was one where as for 4.3.5 it has changed to 2 .there are many other changes also , so I guess you to use 4.3.4 as a new user as it version 4.3.5 has many bugs and errors that have been reported.

The problem lies with your config file, I am just guessing it as you have not posted your config file here. But , most the problem for the keyboard and the mouse arises from the config file. You just need to set set CONFIG_INPUT_EVDEV=y in my kernel config file. That would automatically fix all the issues with your system. But do remember to alter xorg.conf for fresh driver x11-drivers/xf86-input-evdev.as without that the changes made won t be saved. If it did not fixed the problem then restart the system and try again, because that‘s where the problem lies.