Thread: Static power in the front panel

Static power in the front panel

I have got a desktop system, My system is very old , I have been using it since 4 years , I have got Windows xp operating system installed in my system , since a few days it is giving me a lots of issues, whenever I try to touch the front panel of the system I get a slight shock , some times I get scared and do not turn it on because of my younger cousins who are all school kids and lurk around the system whenever it is turned on . So if any one knows how can I fix this issue then I am waiting his or her response.

Re: Static power in the front panel

You just said that your system is quite old and sometime you get shock from the front bezel or the front panel, I think it has nothing to do with your old system , it is because there will be some spare wire touching inside the cabinet box , so if youhave got a bit of knowledge about the hardware and can open the cabinet yourself then open it and and look for the loose connection .

Well I contradict that part that post which is posted in the above post, it says that it has no relevancy with the old system , but I think it is due to your old motherboard if you do not want that static power to get emitted from your system then I think you should change your system board , along with that you can change your processor and upgrade the RAM as well, the I do not hink you will face this sort of issue.

Well if you ask me the issue is not in your system at all , but it is with the surge protector and the wall socket . Well if observe the power cable of the system, there are three pins in there , two are for the power and the third is for the earthing , I think the socket that is required for the the earthing in the system may be damaged , so you I think you will need to install a new and then I think you your system will not emit any static power. But still if you get any issue you are most welcome to post back.