Go Back   TechArena Community > Hardware > Hardware Peripherals
Become a Member!
Forgot your username/password?
Tags Active Topics RSS Search Mark Forums Read

Old 25-08-2009

LaCie 500gb hdd - not working anymore

Alright so this drive is over a year old but probably hasn't been touched for over half now.

It worked fine, then it abruptly stopped. Now it won't be recognized by any computer and I tried to see if it would show up in My Computer or under Administrator Tools in Control Panel. Neither showed this harddrive.

I have an identical Harddrive that I have been using for two years with no problems at all.

Any solutions? The computer knows some USB device has been plugged in because it does the 'duh duhh' noise when you connect something via usb.

But no bubbles show up, no window on how to open or auto play the drive and nothing like mentioned above. I thought maybe to reformat the disk, but i can't because the computer doesn't see it.

thanks

.baluk
Old 25-08-2009

Re: LaCie 500gb hdd - not working anymore

First check that you are having proper working connecting cable for your LaCie 500gb usb drive. Then now if your harddisk get detected as you connected to pc but after time it not shown up and says usb drive not recognize then problem is regarding to usb drive drivers .go to my computer > right click > mange > storage disk management > check there for your disk and if you not found better to claim your warranty.
Old 25-08-2009

I don't see what you mean by:

my computer > right click > mange > storage disk management

but i did go to disk management thru the adminstrator tools in control panel.

and the computer doesn't say it doesn't recognize this drive. it just makes the noise instantly when i plug or unplug the usb device. but no bubbles/windows show up, and nothing shows up anywhere for the drive. nor in my computer.