Thread: What is a Non-banking financial company (NBFC)?

Satyrs Guest

What is a Non-banking financial company (NBFC)?

I am a Commerce student and i am interested to work in a banking sector. I heard about Non-banking financial company (NBFC) and that also provide a banking services. But i don't have an idea about this Non-banking financial company (NBFC). I want to know about it. What is a Non-banking financial company(NBFC)? How they work? And other important information related with NBFC. So please reply me as soon as possible.

Re: What is a Non-banking financial company (NBFC)?

Non-bank financial companies (NBFCs) are financial institutions that offer banking services without gathering the officially authorized description of a bank, i.e. one that does not hold a banking license. However this depends on the authority, as in some jurisdictions, such as New Zealand, any company can do the business of banking, and there are no banking licenses issued. It is an varied group of institutions (other than commercial and co-operative banks) performing financial inter-mediation in a variety of ways.

Non-banking financial companies or NBFCs are financial institutions that provide banking services, but do not hold a banking license. These institutions are not permitted to take deposits from the public. However, all operations of these institutions are still covered under banking regulations. NBFCs do offer all sorts of banking services, such as loans and credit services, money markets, underwriting, and merger activities. The number of non-banking financial companies has expanded really in the last a number of years as undertaking capital companies, retail and industrial companies have entered the lending business.