Thread: How to run explorer.exe of Windows 7 in Windows 8?

How to run explorer.exe of Windows 7 in Windows 8?

I am a software developer who develops software for Windows operating system. Microsoft has announced launch of its new operating system which goes by name Windows 8. I got the developer’s preview of it and I am learning to develop softwares for it. Since I am using Java and VB.Net for development, it happens that many times the process goes high and starts consuming large amount of resources. So I start the Task Manager to manage the processes and the resources. The problem is that I didn’t like the default task manager that the Windows 8 provide. Can someone tell me if there is any way of getting Task Manager like one in Windows 7 to work on Windows 8?

Re: How to run explorer.exe of Windows 7 in Windows 8?

I have a patch for it and I think that it will help you Task Manager from Windows 7 in Windows 8. This patch will actually tweak the explorer.exe file of Windows 8 to give the looks of Windows 8. I am attaching the patch along with this post which you can download and use. You will get a zip file by name Win7explorer. Unzip this file and you will find two files, one is Win7explorer.exe and the other is wrp32.dll. You have to place these files in the C:\explorer7. So your file system will have files like these,

• C:\explorer7\explorer.exe
    • C:\explorer7\en-US\explorer.exe.mui
    • C:\explorer7\WIn7explorer.exe
    • C:\explorer7\wrp32.dll

Once done, you can click on the Win7explorer.exe to run the patch and have Windows 7 like task manager in Windows 8. To disable the Windows 7 like Task Manager, again execute the Win7explorer.exe patch.
    Attached Files Attached Files