Thread: How to add system folders to context menu in windows 7

How to add system folders to context menu in windows 7

I am new to this topic and new to make some settings in the customize desktop section. As I had some query in this case and as I thought it might be good to make a thread in this forum as I could not find the solutions on other places. So I would like the option to have shortcuts to Computer, Control Panel as well as Recycle Bin. It would be great if you also provide with the desktop and my own folder on the context menu. I by now know how to make an addition of a new program alternative to the desktop context menu through RegEdit. though, attempt as I might, I am not able to do the same with system folder shortcuts. Can you assist me in my case. so please provide me with possible solutions.

Re: How to add system folders to context menu in windows 7

If you are concerned with how to Add Shortcuts to the Windows 7 Context Menu with Icons then , I will give a possible answer in your case. so I would like to tell you that after making some addition of shortcuts follow the steps given under so that you are able to add icons to the shortcuts:
    1. you need to open regedit. (open startmenu enter 'regedit' in search and hit enter)
    2. and then you need to navigate to HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Directory\Background\shell\ in the registry.
    3. in addition, you will be also need to click on shell so that you are able to see the context menu items.
    4. If you have added Firefox you will be able to see Firefox within the shell key.
    5. you also need to click on Firefox as well as the in the values pane right click along with click 'new' and after that 'expandable string value'. You need to name the new value 'Icon'.
    6. also right clicking on 'Icon' along with clicking on modify and in the edit string dialog , you will need to enter the path of the icon file.
    7. finally with the OK button , you are all done with that.