Thread: How to change "new folder" icon in windows 7?

How to change "new folder" icon in windows 7?

Hello friends. Compliments to each and every one out there. I hope that you all have been doing well. I am new to computers and had a doubt in my mind, so thought to leave a thread here. Basically, the thing is that I would like to know whether there is any technique to alter default icons in windows explorer such as Desktop, Favorites, Downloads, Computer, Network places and few more of them.Do reply people and let me know. Thanks in advance for the help as I really appreciate it on a very high note. Take Care.

re: How to change "new folder" icon in windows 7?

Hello. I am fine. I would like to tell you that you can revolutionize the majority of them by substituting the icons in your images.dll in C:\Windows\System32\imageres.dll and in favor of x64 systems you comprise to edit imageres.dll in C:\Windows\SysWow64\imageres.dll as well. At that moment unambiguous your icon cache furthermore again start. I feel this is fairly easy and you will be able to do it without any issues. Also, I am hoping my reply proves fruitful to you.

To amend the file is straightforward, you can make use of resource hacker. Initially take ownership of the original file, be certain to back it up. Install resource hacker, subsequent to it and immediately double click the file you desire to edit, in this case imageres.dll, discover the icon you wish for substituting in icon group and right click on it and swap resource, a dialogue box will be seen then browse to your new-fangled icon with an .ico extension, then click restore. After that go to file, click on save as, save to your desktop, as imageres.dll. Again name the unique and whichever copy to or else shift the modded file to the accurate folder.

In order to clear icon cache, manually rebuild the Icon Cache by means of the Command Prompt in the following way: