Thread: Desktop Environment and Windows Manager

Desktop Environment and Windows Manager

I am new to the Linux and hence I want to have the basics cleared here. I have tried starting with the Desktop Environment. Well what is the Desktop Environment? Also in addition to that I want to know what is the Windows Manager and is there any relation between the two. Are they different or are they same but are treated differently in the different operating systems. Please guys let me know I have some more questions that ate ticking in my head but for the time being I think that if this question is cleared it will be a great help. Also I would be happy if you all can suggest the Best one from the above two categories. Best Windows Manager and the best Desktop Environment for the Linux.

Re: Desktop Environment and Windows Manager

Well if at you are new to the Linux then on the first note let me welcome you to the world of Linux and after that I would like you help with the question that you have posted here, to start with the Desktop Environment and the Windows Manager. Then let me tell you that a Desktop Environment is basically a tool that makes available support for the icons, toolbars, applications, applets, and at the same time also provides with the abilities like drag and drop. On the same note I would like to tell that a Windows Manager acts like a control panel. It is used to control the placement and manifestation of application windows that are beneath the X Window System. But it fails to provide panels, applets, icons, etc.

I am here to tell you about some of the Desktop Environments that I have came across and I think that they will be of some business here. Please have a look at it and I hope that you will be able to find out the best one for you. I have here KDE, Gnome and Xfce.