Go Back   TechArena Community > Hardware > Antec Brand Forum
Become a Member!
Forgot your username/password?
Tags Active Topics RSS Search Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 30-09-2013
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 90
using antec truepower quattro PSU on new computer build

I have a pretty old computer that was built with Antec TruePower Quattro 1000W power supply. So, I am now looking to upgrade to a new computer build but was wondering if this power supply would be used with the new system? The Power Supply is working well but it is 4 years old so far, so should I get a new PSU or will this suffice? Thanks for any suggestions.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2013
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,196
Re: using antec truepower quattro PSU on new computer build

The Antec TruePower Quattro 1000W power supply will definitely run now-a-days high end PCs with any Intel I core processors and even a high end graphics card from Nvidia or Radeon. The PSU is very good, but anything used over 3 years of a time could not be guranteed for future running. So, it will be good if you buy a new power supply because soon this antec psu will not work properly because of its 4 years or running.
__________________
Windows 7 Review
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-10-2013
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,342
Re: using antec truepower quattro PSU on new computer build

If the Antec TruePower Quattro 1000W is working fine, then you can atleast run it for sometime. But as a caution, I will ask you to check the readings of the power supply in BIOS. Go into hardware monitor or some similar area where all the CPU Temp readings are registered. There you will need to check the readings of +3.3V and also +12V is above its reading. If it is below then consider to replace the PSU as soon as possible.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-10-2013
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 818
Re: using antec truepower quattro PSU on new computer build

Well, I would also say that it will be a risk to run this PSU with high end computer build, since it is very old, even though it is a good brand of PSU. Note that if the power supply dies, then it will also damage many parts in the computer as well. Because it is quite old, I wouldnt use it and definitely try to buy another PSU for the new build.
Reply With Quote
Reply

  TechArena Community > Hardware > Antec Brand Forum
Tags: , , , ,



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads for: "using antec truepower quattro PSU on new computer build"
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Antec TruePower 550W for HD 7950 jacob2013 Antec Brand Forum 3 24-08-2013 11:54 AM
after installing Antec Kuhler H2O 620 computer is not booting Viensterrr Antec Brand Forum 3 26-04-2013 11:34 AM
Is Intel i7-2600K and Asus P8P67 Deluxe idle with Antec Truepower 2.0 TheRyder Hardware Peripherals 4 03-05-2011 01:11 PM
Best antec case for my computer Riverds Hardware Peripherals 6 31-10-2010 04:16 AM
Antec truepower quattro deval4u Hardware Peripherals 3 25-08-2009 02:23 PM


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 08:13 AM.