Go Back   TechArena Community > Hardware > Antec Brand Forum
Become a Member!
Forgot your username/password?
Tags Active Topics RSS Search Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 16-03-2013
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 331
Antec earthwatts EA500 500W not working

I am looking forware to build a new computer. I have bought a Asrock z75 motherboard and added a i7 core processor to it with some ram and wanted to check if the mobo and other parts are working fine. I then attached the 24 pin and 8 pin cables from Antec earthwatts EA500 500W power supply to mobo. After that I connected the AC Power Cord to the power supply and turned on the power, but only to notice that the fan on the PSU is not rotating? Is this PSU broken or is there some other problems? Please help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18-03-2013
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 804
Re: Antec earthwatts EA500 500W not working

I know this question seems to be dumb, but did you make sure whether the Power Supply is plugged into a working outlet? I mean to ask if the setup that you have done is powered on, incase its on a power strip or similar setup? Did you try to test the outlets that are being used before? Doesnt anything power at all?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19-03-2013
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 331
Re: Antec earthwatts EA500 500W not working

I have connected it to the power strip outlet that is used to power the laptop adapter. Because the unit did not come with a cable, I did try to power it with the cable that powers the Samsung monitor. The cable seems to be working great since the monitor works, but if it is connected to the power supply and powered on the fan, then it doesnt rotate.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21-03-2013
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 835
Re: Antec earthwatts EA500 500W not working

Have you tried to connect the pin 15 and 16 with a paperclip and checked whether the Power supply runs the fan. You might also need to test the voltage of each pin to see if they all appear to be fine or not. It could be also possible that you might have got a dead on arrival power supply. So you can try to ring up the customer support and ask about a replacement, since the PSU might be under warranty for sure.
Reply With Quote
Reply

  TechArena Community > Hardware > Antec Brand Forum
Tags: , ,



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads for: "Antec earthwatts EA500 500W not working"
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Antec EarthWatts EA 380D Green 380W for HD 7770 Anas Antec Brand Forum 3 27-07-2013 03:34 PM
Antec EarthWatts 500W PSU enough for HD 7870 card? Springing Antec Brand Forum 3 28-06-2013 11:35 AM
Antec P280 USB 3.0 ports are working in USB 2.0 mode neeeel Antec Brand Forum 7 28-11-2012 12:01 PM
Can my PC support Antec Earthwatts 650? Rambha Hardware Peripherals 4 12-07-2011 07:35 PM
Antec Earthwatts 430 gets on fire L-cynthiya Hardware Peripherals 4 04-02-2010 09:10 AM


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:04 AM.